You are here

What's New?

August 25, 2015

CEC Receives Paul Yuzyk Award: President's comments

Dear CEC Members and Friends:

Personally and behalf of the Board of Directors of the Canadian Ethnocultural Council (CEC) I am ecstatic to communicate to you that on August 4th, 2015, the CEC became the first Organization recipient of the prestigious Paul Yuzyk Award for Multiculturalism.

Proudly with the CEC were also Dr. Jawakar (Jay) Kabra and Ms. Priya Saha, who received respectively the 2015 Lifetime Achievement and Youth Paul Yuzyk Award for Multiculturalism. We congratulate these special individuals for their outstanding achievements and contributions to multiculturalism.

The Paul Yuzyk Award for Multiculturalism established by the Government of Canada (Citizenship and Immigration Canada) in 2009, commemorates the late Senator Yuzyk’s legacy in entrenching multiculturalism as one of the fundamental characteristics of Canadian heritage and identity. This award recognizes individuals, group of individuals and organizations in communities across Canada who have made exceptional contributions to multiculturalism and the integration of newcomers.

The CEC’s receipt of the Paul Yuzyk Award is the coming together of the dreams and goals of the CEC’s co-founders; the guidance and administration of its first Board of Directors to the present; the support and commitment of its members; the arduous and dedicated work of its staff and volunteers as well as the genuine and comforting support of many people. The CEC sincerely thanks all of you.

A noted writer by the name of Melody Beattie states that “… Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today and creates a vision for tomorrow.”

The CEC’s realization of the Paul Yuzyk Award for Multiculturalism fully embodies and resonates herein the aforesaid essence of gratitude.

May the CEC continue to embrace its rich past, operate in peace and harmony in the present, and look towards the future with a fervent flame representing, advancing, promoting and preserving the multicultural reality of Canada.

Our sincere gratitude and congratulations to all of you for making the CEC’s receipt of the 2015 Paul Yuzyk Award for Multiculturalism a reality.

I remain, yours very truly,
Dominic Campione

Canadian Ethnocultural Council
Organization Recipient - Paul Yuzyk Award 2015

Dominic Campione receiving award from Pamela Piercey, Director General - Ontario Region,
Citizenship and Immigration Canada, on behalf of the Hon Jason Kenney, Minister of Multiculturalism.


Canadian Ethnocultural Council
Executive (2014-2016) and friends

Back Row: Wasyl Luczkiw (Youth Chairperson), Peter Ferreira (Past President), Yvonne Bogorya-Buczkowski (Director), Lou Sekulovski (Immediate Past President), Anna Chiappa (Executive Director), George Manios (Director), Diane Dragasevich (Vice-President), Lenny Lombardi (CHIN Radio International President and event Emcee)

Front Row: Laureano Leone, (Founding President), Dominic Campione (President), Bora Dragasevich (Co-founder Board of President and member).

Not available: Paul Grod (Director), Len Rudner (Director), Athina Charalambides (Treasurer), Hratch Aynedjian (Secretary), Emmanuel(Mannie) Dick (Director and Past President), Art Hagopian (Past President)